Best buy install?

Participant count
  • Participant list
It's hit or miss. I am a Geek Squad Installer and it just depends on the store. My store has had garbage installers and awesome installers. Since I have been in the bay we only keep high quality installers and hopefully it will stay that way. We also fix other stores installs (as well as a lot of shops stuff), so it just depends. We have people that drive a good distance just to come to our install bay. Feel out the installer and see how good he is, see if they take pride in their bay and work. It is pretty much the same for any install shop, but Best Buy has over 1,000 install bays so the horror stories are multiplied. The good part is we stand by our work and warranty it at any store and will un-install at no charge.

Why not try doing the install yourself? I used to get amp kits and head units and stuff put in and once you do it you find it out a lot of the stuff isn't real difficult. There's tons of youtube vids you can follow and tutorials galore on this site. Plus, you get to know you YOU did it and it was done right.

yep, all depends on the install bay and actual installers.

i recommend anyone paying for an install take the time to talk to the installer face-to-face to discuss the car, the outcomes, and options. that will not only let you evaluate the installer but give them a reason to put pride in their work and do a better job. know that more reliable connections and more attractive mounting and installation methods will take more time and cost a bit more. that extra is worth it.

request any wire taps/connections are soldered and check that work afterward. that extra effort will mostly eliminate future wire issues. anyone who resists soldering isn't who i would consider a "good" installer.

yep, all depends on the install bay and actual installers.