Best budget amp for the money?

mcarlos95
10+ year member

To start off, I'm looking to get some bass in my ride. I am a complete noob.

I've been told that a cheap starter sub is the JBL GTO1214D. This is apparently a good brand and will last longer and be better compared to a pioneer/sony.

As for the amp, which should I get? My budget is extremely limited as in, only get what's need or save up for something that's worth the money. Whatever will power this sub. It has 350RMS. will that hit hard? How "hard"? A simple car shake or will my ear drums feel it inside the car? My friend bought a Pioneer sub and an amp, both from Walmart. They hit HARD. My eardrums start feeling it all, while in his car. Will the JBL hit like this?

What cables will I need? My car is already hooked up with the blue cable all the way to the stereo, a ground cable, and the red and white audio cables. These are all routed from the front of the car to the trunk. The red cable, however, is messed up. It is fine all the way up until the hood. It has a fuse at the very end, as in it ends at the fuses. I'm guess I'll need another power wire, but which one would work for it?

you should never mention walmart audio in this forum lol
how much can you afford for sub or amp
I can afford anything, whether it take a month or year of saving. I need something people on this forum think is good that won't break the bank. It is just one 12 after all. Nothing fancy, I just don't want Walmart crap(ironic? lol).

Nice, $107. Does anyone else agree with this? Are there other better ones or should I stick to this.

Also, there are different "guages" for power wires no? What will I need?

If you want them to hit hard get at least 2 12 600watts to 1000 wats, most people start out with 600watt sub like Sundown, Skar, Obsidian, IAD, SSA, PSI, FI etc..

You might want to look at this store, any sub in this store is good SSA store