Anyone familiar with 2007 Buick Lucerne, sub placement and other questions... (long)

Participant count
  • Participant list

flea77
10+ year member

So I currently have one 12" in a sealed box in the trunk. Problem is, I need all the room I can get my hands on (I am a traveling tech, have tools, parts, and even a folding ladder in the trunk, litterally every inch counts and yes, I have to maintain the spare tire, heh), in addition, I am likely to have the back seat and floorboards full of equipment at any given time. So I have thought about trying to find alternate places to place the sub(s). Note, this is a daily driver, hidden install, SQ not SPL.

I can't go under the front seats, no room. Back seats are out as well because that is where the battery is and all the room not allocated to the battery and fusebox is taken up by seat foam and metal supports. I have thought about taking the rear seat back out, cutting some holes in the metal backing behind it for say a pair of 8" subs to fire through the seat, but not sure I want to hurt that structure. I have also thought about cutting out some of the plastic rear deck, reinforcing it with some wood, then placing a pair of 8s, a single 10 or even a single 12 there firing up towards the back glass (but then there is the back deck cover to contend with).

I also thought about a smaller box (currently I have a 12" MTX Thunder 4000 in a prefab box measuring about 14x14x16 inches with the 120x1 amp and Epicenter mounted on top), maybe dropping down to a 10" Polk or Dayton Reference in a smaller box but then I would have to mount the amp etc on the back or somewhere else. If I am reading the specs correctly (Polk MM series) the 10" needs approximately 60% of the size of the 12" which would be a nice improvement on how much room I had in the trunk (about 14x14x16 for the 12", 11x11x13 for the 10"). I could even mount the electronics on the area behind the rear seat on the inside.