Amplifier setup question, advice and major help!

Participant count
  • Participant list

airspoon

I am a car audio newb, Before the economy went south, i used to just bring my car into the audio shop, give my budget and give the guys creative license. Now however, I'm pinching the pennies and so am a lot more particular. Unfortunately, the shop that I have my car worked on, tries to nickel and dime me for everything and instead of giving me the best advice or recommending the best products for my needs, they recommend whatever will make them the most money. They up-sell and push Stinger products. They are great at what they do, the best in my area as far as I can tell, but I just can't trust their recommendations and what they are trying to sell me.

I currently have the Pioneer appradio 3, which only has two 2-volt pre-outs. I have a Pioneer Premier TS-W1007d4 dual 4ohm voice-coil 10" sub in a 1.8 cubic ft ported box (looking to change to a sealed box), a pair of Infinity Kappa 62.9I co-axles (2ohm each) in the rear deck and a Infinity Ref 475a 4-channel amp powering the rear co-axles and bridged to power the sub. I'm now in the market for a pair of components for up front and an extra amp to power everything.

It was suggested that I power the front components and rear co-axles with the 4 channel infinity Ref amp and get a mono-amp with sub control knob to daisy chain and power the sub (since I only have 2 pre-outs on my head unit). I was unaware of speaker-level inputs.