Amp and Speaker Installation

Participant count
  • Participant list

DanOpi
10+ year member

MN
Hey there guys so i'm new to car audio and have been for a while. I currently have an aftermarket head unit in my car and that's it. Of course speakers but nothing good. I have a Pioneer DEH-5200HD. I just bought an old school Aura 2 Channel Amp and a set of 6.5 Coaxial Digital Designs with an amp kit for a good cheap price in my budget. So i will be running a front stage set up but i will keep the back speakers in just for fill. But the problem that i have is, i never have installed an amp before. I've been doing some reading and talking to some people on the site and i want to see what else i need to add in and if anyone has any tips or tricks they can share with me.

So here is what i know so far:

I have to run a power wire from my battery through the engine wall into my car and then into my trunk where my amp will be. I found a place where i can run it through i'm pretty sure but i'm not positive. Also i need to include a fuse on the power wire. I understand it's like a fuse box so i will cut the wire and then put one end of the wire in the one end of the fuse box and do the same on the other end. Is this correct?

I also have to find a place where i can attack my grounding wire. So one end is attached to the amp and then i need to find a bolt where i can attach it on. I have to make sure to sand the paint and rust away from where the bolt is. The bolt also has to be connected to the chassis.

With both of those wires i want to make sure not to have them run on shard edges or places where they could get hot and melt.