Alternator for 2002 Taho

Participant count
  • Participant list

Water Bear

Senior VIP Member
Question for the more experienced installers from a complete newb:

I'm thinking of putting a high power set up in my 2002 Tahoe. Probably 2-3k watts of bass.

I know I will need to upgrade my electrical. Batteries are easy to upgrade...alternators I don't know much about. Looking at the options from Mechman, most of them use a smaller-than-stock pulley and require a 1/2" to 1" shorter belt.

Try not to laugh at these stupid questions.

1) How hard is it to install a new, shorter belt?

2) Are all high-amp alts going to be like this?

I've watched some Youtube videos and it looks like it *might* be as simple as backing off the tensioner, slapping on a new belt, then tightening the tensioner back up. I don't have any experience with this sort of thing...can a complete moron do it without destroying his engine / causing an accident?

It's easy, your stock belt should fit but if you're worried go to the store, have them pull out a stock belt and then have them pull out a belt about a quarter or half inch shorter and buy the shorter belt. If you don't need it return it.

Our vehicles are easy as pie to get the serpentine belt swapped on. Pull off the intake and you're pretty much there. the intake plastic tube between the air filter and throttle body, that is. Not the entire intake lol

You can go to a junkyard and get an OEM AD244 for like $40 when you pull it out of the vehicle and that'll give you about 120a at idle and that's really all you need for 2-3k

dual alt brackets are around $250, for a while I just used two stock AD244's and got a great amount of idle output

Here's what they clamped:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HhpIeDytDohttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8HhpIeDytDo