A question about alts.

Participant count
  • Participant list

Janus

I'm new to this site and this board so let me tell you briefly about my system and my car.

i have an '88 Beretta GT (2.8L V-6), almost completely stock except for the audio system. I bought this car about a month or so ago because i needed a car (i'm starting college and need some way of getting there) and it seemed fairly reliable and it was in my budget (i'm a poor student).......

Anyway, I'm running mostly old equipment. I have the stock 6x9's running in the back, 2 JL audio subs in a box in my trunk, a yamaha amp that i have no idea as to the power of (instead of showing the usual 600W or 300W or whatever, it just says 35W x 4 / 70W x 2. My guess is that it's not really that powerful.) and i i have two 100W max. 30W nominal Pioneer 4" speakers in the dash. Oh yeah, my head unit is a Pioneer DEH-205 single disk CD-player.... it's old. Everything except the 4" in the dash were in the car when i bought it.

Now that we have that explained, let me get to my question.

The car had a 100A alt. installed before i bought it. Everything that i understand tells me that this should provide more than enough power for my meager system, but when i turn the volume up past 18 (the volume controls go from 1-30) and even lower on really bass intensive songs, the lights begin to dim to the beat. My battery is at about half charge, i'm guessing that this might be the problem? Am i right?

Also i remember reading somewhere that there was some sort of calculation you could do to figure out how much extra power your alt. had that you could use for accessories (systems, security, anything that is a post-production add-on to the electrical sys.). Does anyone know what this is?

Ok, thank you to anyone who actually read this, and an anticipated thank you to anyone who can help me out here.

Janus.