8w7 Repair possible?

Chipmunk2k3
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Is it possible to repair/re-cone a JL Audio 8w7 without paying JL a million dollars? Subs still play but surrounds are cracking and peeling.

I know I read somewhere that guys were using the motors with other companies recone kits but i cant seem to find that thread. I've never built a sub before but this could be a learning experience and as it stands now i'll have a few expensive paperweights soon so why not play around.

:confused:okay say it again in english this time. Thanks for the reply and effort to help but I have no clue what your talking about. As I said I've never done anything like this before.

And what part of NY are you located I noticed your name as one of the guys here that repairs subs. If your not too far I have no prob taking a road trip.

If you keep the JL frame, it will require the JL surround style, which is proprietary and found no where else (that I know of) besides JL Audio.
Okay that raises another question. If I go with new baskets etc wont that end up costing about the $200+ that JL wants to recone. A guy on here has some 1508 baskets for like 30bucks.

what else will I need and is it likely that I will get a sub as good or better than the original

if i can get measurments to see if i have access to a coil that fits dont worry about the rest. if he is selling the dd baskets $30 for the pair shipped that is ok but if each dont do it.

ur taking about half of what jl wants bro with different baskets. i might be able to use the baskets even dont know.

i nor nobody can help you with out accurate measurments or sending a motor in...