6 Channel amp Wiring help. (ohm loads ect.)

Shijima

Canada
Hey all Im fairly new to Car audio, and after a little research thought I was ready to dive head first into a project.

Wrong.

The setup was to run my speakers off channels 1+2(front) 3+4(rear) and channel 5+6 would be bridged to run the sub.

Anyways heres the situation, the a6450 from jl said it puts 150W x1bridged channel into a 4 ohm load. Now I was thinking that one Jl 10w3v2 4 ohm DVC subwoofer, would match up pretty well, since 150W is far below the continuous RMS rating of the sub, but above the minimum RMS.

I finally got both the units and after reading the instructions I find that when you wire one W3v2 in series, it puts the ohm load up to 8 and I can only get 90W from the amp to an 8ohm load, which is just barely within the minimum RMS for the sub.

But If I wire it in parallel It lowers the ohm load to 2 ohms, which the amplifier says it should not run an ohm load less than 4 when bridging channels.

How can I wire it so theres 4 ohms going into the subwoofer?

You cant get a 4 ohm final load from a 4ohm dvc sub.

my best advice would be to wire chan 5 to coil and chan 6 to the other coil, this will give each coil whatever the amp is rated to put at 4 ohms

That would be 5 and 6 running as 5 and 6, not a single channel.
Wire one coil to 5, and one coil to 6, presenting a 4 ohm load to each.
but then he'd have to figure out how to isolate just the bass, instead of the full range of noise, correct? I know nothing about 6ch amps FYI-

but then he'd have to figure out how to isolate just the bass, instead of the full range of noise, correct? I know nothing about 6ch amps FYI-

My amp has a few filters HP/LP/OFF, So I think i would be fine in that department, but I might lose my ability to have Subwoofer control through the headunit, but im brand new to car audio, so I could be wrong.

Heres a pic from JL showing what my amp is like.

http://mobile.jlaudio.com/products_amps_lineart.php?amp_id=403