wut amp is gud?

kouji

Dear caraudio, noob here.

My current speaker setup in my MR2 is 2 unknown pioneers up front and the stock 2" filler speakers in the back and i've recently added a low profile, self amplified 10" sub. the 2 in the back are nothing terribly important for such a small cockpit. i'll upgrade those in due time but thats not what this post is about.

I've recently purchased a pair of P165 Rockford Fosgate Punch speakers. There was a great deal on Amazon as RF stuff seems to have. Not knowing too much about audio, after ordering I realize those speakers run at 55w RMS. My headunit is a DEH P500UB so a 200w 4x50w as they tend to be.

From what I've gathered, thats optimum wattage vs the deck's peak wattage so my deck isnt necessarily sufficient for those speakers and while they'll play, they start to sound crappy as you get a bit louder. Of course this not ideal.

So clearly I need an amplifier. I'm looking for something decent that would be plenty sufficient for those 2 speakers. I'd like to stick with the Rockford Fosgate brand if I can, I just dont really know what I'm looking for to be idea for what I'm working with.

What I, at first, thought to be a good option is this guy right here: Amazon.com : Rockford Fosgate R150X2 Prime 2-Channel Amplifier : Vehicle Stereo Amplifiers : Car Electronics

But that specifies 50w output per channel. Is this childs play? or RMS?

Or would I need something like this?

http://www.amazon.com/Rockford-Fosgate-PBR300X2-2-Channel-Amplifier/dp/B007AQ2WXU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1409689511&sr=8-1&keywords=pbr300x2

Because at the same time I'm trying to keep close to or under $100 if possible. Maybe that first option just kinda got me excited to it being under 100. While i say i'd like to keep with RF, thats not required.

I'm just trying to boost up some power for 2 speakers so I cant see needing a whole whole lot

Thanks for any help

-K