Why do my new speakers sound so mediocre?

iCeNN
10+ year member

Ok so I recently replaced my 4 speakers in my 1999 Saturn SC2(two 6.5 3 way Pioneers in the front, and two 6.5 Alpines in the back). I also had a car audio shop hook 'me up to a cheap quality amp( Xplore) which I have at the moment, although I'm going to be having it replaced with either a Pioneer or an Alpine today. I'm not exactly sure how much power the Xplore amp is pushing to my new speakers right now, but I believe it is probably somewhere around 75-80 W x 2 ohms(I'm a complete noob right now when it comes to car audio, so I may be off a bit). I should note I had my factory HU replaced with a Pioneer HU ( the 2400UB), before installing the new speakers and I noticed the Pioneer HU did not improve the sound quality of my factory speakers. If anything it seemed like it sounded a tad bit worse(less bass), although I had the bass turned up on the factory HU EQ, and when I was testing the new HU for the first time, the EQ was set to default. So the Pioneer HU may not have necessarily made the sound worse but I think it didn't improve the sound. Right now my speakers just don't sound rich m. They're not clear enough, and seem to be lacking a bit of bass. Compared to my sister's 5 1/4 BMW speakers( no amp, and they're factory upgrades I believe) they sound kinda crappy and inferior. What do you guys think might be the problem right now? Could it be the crappy amp and nothing else? When I get t replaced today, in theory should it improve the sound quality that much? Also wanted to note when testing the front door Pioneer speakers after I installed them my self(this was the second upgrade after getting the new HU, and at that time I had no amp) I noticed only a very slight improvement which seemed kinda odd because most of the reviews of the Pioneers said that the Pioneers sounded much better than stock speakers. So at that point I was disappointed. Could it be my speaker wires maybe? Since my car is kin