Which amp to purchase?

nbenham

I'm looking at two different amps on Amazon and would love some input, as I'm new to car audio..

Kenwood Kac-8105D 1000-Watt Class Amplifier ($114)

Alpine MRP-M500 Monoblock Power Amplifier ($125)

Both put out 500W X 1 at 2_. Suggestions?

Cheers!

Last edited by a moderator:
What sub are you looking to power with this monoblock? You could go cheaper and get a APSM1500 for less than either of those options on the budget side or you could head over to Sonic and grab a Boston Acoustics GT2200 for less than 150 and have 900W at 2 ohms bridged.

That's a great suggestion neo..I like the looks of the Boston GT2200 a lot. I'm considering MTX TNE212D preloaded subs to accompany it. Open to suggestions there as well..

I'd try to avoid preloaded. They're normally tuned too high and won't give you what you're looking for in low end. I would suggest finding a used sub on here and having @double 07 ; build you a box specifically for that sub and your car. He's cheaper than you'd think btw. Had him build me a box for my ID10 and, even shipped to California, was still cheaper than getting one done locally. Built waaaaaay better too.

---------- Post added at 11:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:51 AM ----------

What's your budget for everything? I'll do my best to help point you in the right direction.

I'm looking at around $300 total, $150 for the subs and $150 for the amp, although that range is flexible. I'm comfortable installing myself, but not building enclosures. I'm looking for a rounded sound, not just something that rattles the civic.

Then we're on the same team here. If you can see my setup I know exactly what you're after. I would say try and snag a good deal on a ID10, go sealed for your enclosure until you can upgrade to a well-tuned ported enclosure and go with the next step down of that Boston amp (GT2125) for 110 at SonicElectronix. Should put you right at budget.