What does a frequency multiplier on a crossover do.

Participant count
  • Participant list

calebkhill
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
Mine has a 20x. So if i input something at 80hz, multiply by 20, these speakers will now only play frquencies after 1600khz.

im new to car stereo..

also, what would be a good lpf setting for subs, mids, and tweets.

my main concern is that my 6x9s distort high frequencies when the volume is up and the lows are coming through.

I still want the lows, so you can hear organs and other low sounds, but not to where it distorts when the volume is up.

Get what im saying?

Mine has a 20x. So if i input something at 80hz, multiply by 20, these speakers will now only play frquencies after 1600khz.
That's correct. The multiplier could be used for an active high pass filter for tweeters or LP for woofers.

Lowpass subs at 80.

Hipass mids at 80

Hipass tweets at whatever they're designed for.

If mids distort, raise the HPF until they don't. If that doesn't work, get better speakers.

Alright, thx.Maylar, i have the rockford t1693s, i should be able to get these right.
I have the T1 comp sets they handle decent amount of power But i have problems with vocals at high volumes Mainly women and some men vocals sound harsh and a little distorted, Could be a lot to do with my install of them though. Let me know how the 6x9's sound. I'm getting the fogate T3's 6.5's soon because of it. GL

I have the T1 comp sets they handle decent amount of power But i have problems with vocals at high volumes Mainly women and some men vocals sound harsh and a little distorted, Could be a lot to do with my install of them though. Let me know how the 6x9's sound. I'm getting the fogate T3's 6.5's soon because of it. GL