Sub blew up (possible overpowered)

Participant count
  • Participant list

lilhawksfan

CarAudio.com Newbie
I have a Sony XM-D6000GTX amp running 2 12 inch 4ohm 500w subs. I’m very new to this and don’t know how to figure out what subs I need to run with that amp. It was wired with a line out converter off of the factory amp from the factory sub outputs. I ran 4 gauge power and ground straight to the amp from the battery with a 125 amp inline fuse. Everything worked great for about 5 minutes and then it blew the 2 fuses in the back of the amp and one of the subs was smoking. If I press the subs in, one of them moves in and out like normal but the one that started smoking doesn’t move at all. I don’t think it was a wiring issue, more so just the amp possibly overpowering the subs. Can someone please help me find what subs would work with this amp or why that it may have blown?

Attachments

• IMG_6480.jpeg
    IMG_6480.jpeg
    398.2 KB · Views: 82
  • IMG_6481.jpeg
    IMG_6481.jpeg
    865.1 KB · Views: 73
  • IMG_6482.jpeg
    IMG_6482.jpeg
    61.4 KB · Views: 6
Last edited:
You've toasted one of the woofers for sure and sounds like maybe the amp too. The site is having issues with pictures, can't see specifics. Which Pioneer woofers and how did you have them wired up to the amplifier?

Last edited:
You've toasted one of the woofers for sure and sounds like maybe the amp too. The site is having issues with pictures, can't see specifics. Which Pioneer woofers and how did you have them wired up to the amplifier?
TS-W34C is the part number on the subs. I just had the power ran to the power output on the sub and ground wired to ground output on the sub, left sub hooked to left output, right hooked to right. Amp says it’s good for 300w at 4ohms and the subs were rated at 500w 4ohm so I don’t see a problem there. Possibly just because the subs are like 20 years old? Lol