Speaker and Amp compatibility?

jwayne

CarAudio.com Newbie
Texas
Hello, just a heads up I'm extremely new to car audio and really need some help picking the right stuff to buy. I'm running on a pretty low budget, but I want to do the best I can with the money I have. So the speakers I have right now that I want to run is one 12" 4 ohm woofer (KFC-W120SVC) that's rated for 250w RMS and 1000w max, 2 KFC-6966R at 45w rms and 400w max in the rear, and 2 JBL 6.5" Club 6520 at 50w RMS and 150w max in the front (which are labeled as 3ohm(?) on the JBL website). I would like to be able to run all of it without having to buy 2 different amps, so I read up on 5 channel amps. I've seen boss a lot and found a boss PV3700 on ebay. The specs on Boss' website says it will run up to 206w RMS x 4 @ 4ohms, and on the 5th channel it will run up to 563 RMS @ 4ohms. This seems pretty overpowered for the rms rating on all of my speakers, but does that matter? Would I be better off getting a four channel and a monoblock? I also saw examples of people running a 4 channel amp with 4 speakers on 2 channels then running the sub bridged on channels 3 and 4, could I do this on a cheaper boss amp or no? Am I way overestimating the watts I need? Another amp I was looking at was the Boss R2504 (R2504 | BOSS Audio Systems, a Leading Audio & Video Brand ), but would that one work with 4 speakers and a sub? If I didn't post in the right place I apologize, I'm fresh to the forum. Thanks in advance

I'd stay away from anything boss...it's about low of quality as you can find on top of their amps being way overrated on power...

Here's a couple that'd be way better and more reliable than boss...they're around $200...

On a budget, I would skip replacing the rear speakers and amping them. You want good speakers in front of you. Buy the jbl’s, the subwoofer and a 4 channel amplifier. Bridge the rear channels for the subwoofer.