Quick Question

KeRPaL0389
10+ year member

Texas
I'm new to the whole car audio scene and such, but I decided I wanted some subwoofers in my car. I bought some entry level ones (alpine type e's to be exact), and I am pretty satisfied with them. I hooked them up to the stock amp in my ford explorer (came with mach audio system) just to have them running before I could buy a new amp. The only problem is, when im playing rap with deep, long bass notes they tend to make a weird vibration sound. Now when I turn the bass down this is eliminated, but I am also wondering if maybe the amp is not pushing near enough power, nor the quality of power needed to run the subs. I was just wondering if I could get some advice from someone about this issue. Would buying a new, better amp that runs more power help this problem? Or is there maybe something else wrong with my system? Any suggestions would be helpful, thanks.

not too sure, could be the amp is sending a clipped / distorted signal at higher volumes

also could be the subs (which i kind of doubt) but hopefully someone else here can help you cuz im new also.

Well I bought the box and subs at circuit city, and I also highly doubt it's the subs too. I never really thought it was the best idea to hook the subs to the stock amp, but it was in there and availble to use for the moment so I just went ahead and did it. Most likely what I'll do is just go buy a new amp and have someone install and tweak it for me, that way i get the best sound out of them. But, if anyone else has any suggestions or comments please let me know what you think.

I think you're either under-powering or over-powering you subs.

I'm guessing you got 2 DVC, 4ohm + 4ohm 12" type E's (swe-1241), you need to match the subs with the proper amp that will not underpower them and is not too powerful, otherwise you must adjust the gain accordingly.

"# Kevlar®-treated pulp cone

# 3/4" Santoprene rubber surround

# dual oversized Nomex® spiders