Occasional Speaker Distortion Help

Participant count
  • Participant list

eomonroe00

NY
I just completed my first install. New cd head unit, rear deck, and front components, no amp.

It sounds good, but when playing loud, I will get distortion after about ten minutes. I try to isolate it using balance and fader, when separated there is no distortion when playing only the rear speakers, or only the front, or only the left side, or only the right side.

I only get distortion when I play music through all for, loud for around ten minutes.

Any thoughts. Did I not install it right? Do I have bad speakers?

Thanks

What kind of speakers did you buy. Are you using head unit to power speakers? If you are having distortion at loud volumes your head unit probably isn’t enough to power your speakers

I am using the head unit to power the speakers,

Head unit is 22 watts rmsx4 (Kenwood,

front component speakers are 60 watt rms, JBL

rear speakers are 80 watt rms , JBL

I am a newbie with this but I never thought too little power would be an issue, only too much. I assumed the only issue with too little power is that you could not reach the full potential of the speaker.

Thanks for the quick reply.

The problem is that your head unit is trying to keep up with the demand on the speakers and can’t push out the power that they are requesting. The higher you turn up that volume the more distortion, or clipping you are hearing. This is a sure fire way to send your new speakers to an early grave. Get a 4 channel amp

I am using the head unit to power the speakers, Head unit is 22 watts rmsx4 (Kenwood,

front component speakers are 60 watt rms, JBL

rear speakers are 80 watt rms , JBL

I am a newbie with this but I never thought too little power would be an issue, only too much. I assumed the only issue with too little power is that you could not reach the full potential of the speaker.

Thanks for the quick reply.