New to car audio! Does turning the gain down reduce output of amp?

dsully21

Upland
I recently purchased two 12 inch pioneer tsw310d4 4 ohm subs rated at 1400w max and 400w rms. I also purchased a planet audio 2600w max 2 channel amp. Now in order to find an amp to match my subs I foolishly looked at max output only and figured that together the two subs put out 2800w max and will match perfectly with the 2600w max amp. However I did not bother noticing that the rms power of each channel of the amp which is rated at 900w rms at 2 ohms. So my question is, will I have to buy another amp with less power or is there anyway I could make it work such as keeping the gain down. And before you say it; Yes I barely know what I am talking about and I know that. I am a noob to car audio so bear with me. Thanks guys.

~~ WARNING ~~

Your are about to get roasted for not reading......

Keep both your level and gain down to match the rms of those subs and you should be good.

On the good part, you amp will not get too hot

Great! Thanks for the help. I think I will keep the amp and set the gain with a DMM. You mentioned that the amp probably doesn't put out the power close to what it says it does but do you think it will be the 500w lower that it needs to be? And if the rms output is still higher than 400 is there an accepted range of power that the amp can exceed?