new fiberglass box question

badboyzx2
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
OK, now before anybody says anything, i searched the forums and other sites, but i didnt really find any answers to this question.

Im planning on getting a RE 12" XXX and a RE35.1d. First, i'm just going to build a ported MDF box about 2.25 cubes. I will use this box to get it broken in and everything, but not to look good. But later (i like to think ahead) i want a good looking fiberglass amp rack and enclosure. However, I never really have any long free periods of time with school and work and what not.

-So could i build a fiberglass enclosure over a long period of time. Like maybe get the base part done over a long weekend or whatever, and then take it out of the car and do the rest little by little? or will i have to lay all the fiberglass down at once, resin all at once, etc.

I have never worked with fiberglass before, but my dad will help me and he has minimal experience with it. Also, how can I port a fiberglass box? I read that its possible, but i never read how. thanks.

i wouldn't try to make 3 or 4 different peices and then join them together, but you have to do it layer my layer anyways, so not having 36 straight hours to build it is fine. be aware that a fiberglass enclosure for an xxx is going to need to be at LEAST 5/8" thick, probably thicker, dependent on the matting you use, your looking at about 12-18 layers, which is going to get pretty costly, just dont be surprised by this. you port the enclosure the same way, cut holes, drop tubes in. the only problem i can see is if you have contours and curves its going to be difficult to calculate the volume for port length calculations. you may have to fill it with water or soemthing to get the volume.