Need Help With Gains

Participant count
  • Participant list

Riley1015

CarAudio.com Newbie
Hi, I’m very new to car audio, I didn’t want to spend too much money so I got what I would consider a basic setup. I have a 2022 Toyota Tacoma non-jbl. I replaced the tweeters with DS18s, the front doors with Kicker CS 6x9s, and added a ported kicker subwoofer running off a Jensen amplifier I had from a previous four wheeler project. These worked okay, but I recently found out about the kicker keyloc and replaced my cheap loc with that one. I ran through the test and it set up fine but I have no clue how to set the output gain on the loc as well as the gain on my amplifier. I have a multimeter but don’t know where to start with doing it.

Also, the Jensen app allows a bunch of customization, how should I be setting the frequency and eq levels for a subwoofer? Thanks in advance!

Attachments

• IMG_5209.png
    IMG_5209.png
    111.8 KB · Views: 15
  • IMG_5210.png
    IMG_5210.png
    95.6 KB · Views: 16
Last edited:
You should take it to a shop if you don't know how and can't afford to replace it. Improperly set gains can toast a high quality sub. Ask me about my L7.

With that in mind: the rule of thumb for setting gain is ohm's law: P=IxE, or P=E²/R, or E=√(PxR) . P is either your speaker or your amplifier's rms power rating (generally whichever is lower if both are equal quality because gain IS a volume knob), R is your final load that the amplifier sees, and E is where you set the voltage on the speaker terminals on your amp, measured in ac voltage, using the gain setting. Solve for E and adjust your gain until you reach your E.

Edit for wrongly typed formula.

Last edited:
One observation is that I believe is MHJ meant the gain is not a volume knob.