My Current Setup

Participant count
  • Participant list

Makaveli7haDon
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Let me start by saying I got into car audio about a year ago looking for speakers for my new car and started installing because local shops I went to ripped me off and not to mention they have some bad installers. I am no expert but have learned a lot in the process of putting together my system. I don’t have access to ultra high end equipment so the references I use are Grado SR60 headphones and Klipsch Promedia 2.1 and IFI. Have any questions or comments feel free to email me at makaveli@dslextreme.com. Here is a break down of my current setup:

Head Unit- Alpine W200

IMO the best double-din on the market. Easy to install and user friendly. SQ is phenomenal as always with Alpine HUs. My favorite feature is the ipod interface, almost perfect. Pulsetouch which makes the screen feel like buttons is definitely nice. It plays virtually every format including DVD-A. DVD playback is crisp and clear. Very expandable; game console, Bluetooth for cell phones, blackbird (navigation) is only $500 (dock is $200) and is also portable with a built-in mp3 player, H701 for hardcore tweakers, and backup camera. Very recommended!

Components- CDT HD62

I have the drt25 tweeters and 480 crossovers. Powered with 180x2@4ohms and 24db slope. Mids are mounted on MDF baffles in a sealed door. Most things people say in the forums about them are true: these new tweeters have lots of detail while being easy on the ear. The best of both worlds. The most impressive thing about these components is the vocals/midrange. No muffling on complex songs and voices sound natural. The midbass is great in my doors. Well worth the money.

Component Amp- JBL PX600.2