My amp wont turn on anymore..

jadyn123
10+ year member

Arizona
Yesterday my amp went into protect mode. I believe it could have been due to heat (I used it for a long time).

Now this morning it cooled down and I tried to turn it on. Now the RED LED light, indicating protect mode, does not come on. Nor does the power LED. However a different blue light on the top does come on, indicating its getting some power.

With the remote wire disconnected, I touched my multimeter to the 12v and ground terminals with the amp remote wire cord disconnected and it read ~11.5v

I then plugged in the remote wire (so the amp is on) and it read ~5v

Im not an expert and Im kind of pissed that this happened after a week of having it.

Hopefully its just a problem with the wiring or something simple.

Help is much appreciated!

Yesterday my amp went into protect mode. I believe it could have been due to heat (I used it for a long time).Now this morning it cooled down and I tried to turn it on. Now the RED LED light, indicating protect mode, does not come on. Nor does the power LED. However a different blue light on the top does come on, indicating its getting some power.

With the remote wire disconnected, I touched my multimeter to the 12v and ground terminals with the amp remote wire cord disconnected and it read ~11.5v

I then plugged in the remote wire (so the amp is on) and it read ~5v

Im not an expert and Im kind of pissed that this happened after a week of having it.

Hopefully its just a problem with the wiring or something simple.

Help is much appreciated!
Is the battery dead, have you tried starting the car?

Take your car/truck up to Orielys and get them to test your battery with,and without a load? If it checks out fine,take the amp out and take it to the car battery and ground it and put + and remote together,and it should light up/power,if it doesnt then you will most likely need get it repaired/replaced.