Kenwood KDC-X494 (Excelon, or exceptional pain?)

Participant count
  • Participant list

klingcam
10+ year member

Norcal
First off, here's the build:

2002 Honda Odyssey

HU: Kenwood Excelon KDC-X494

Amp: Kenwood KAC-6404 (rms 40w x 4, 500w total Max Peak)

Speakers: Kenwood KFC-X173 6 1/2" coax rounds in front doors and rear

(left the stock Honda tweets on the dash)

No sub

Lots of Stinger Roadkill sound deadening.

This is my first build of this type, and the good news is that once I finished, it all fired up and worked the first time. It's not easy, or ideal, to get a soccer-van/cavern to present a balanced sound stage. But I've got enough power, it's loud (when the mini-me's aren't in the car), and life is a compromise.

This HU is very slick in appearance and is chock full o' features, especially at the $180 price point: nice clear fluor. white display, tweakable low/mid/high pass filters and equalization settings, 2 zones(front/rear), USB & AUX inputs(ON THE FRONT!), a CD slot on the front w/o having to flip down a face, 4v pre-outs, iPod/iPhone compatible, decent stock 22w rms internal amp (if ur not using an ext.), 24-bit D/A convertor, lots of potential for expandability.