Is this doable

Participant count
  • Participant list

psycho72
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
I was looking at some woofs and seems running two in a ported box leads to some pretty massive box requirements. So I got to thinking if it would be possible to create a baffle to mount the woof on, seal the front from the back (ala infinite baffle) but use the trunk as the box and acually create a port. So this baffle would actually be pretty big and actually more than just one side. Like so:

think about how many curves and **** are in your trunk? want to try to figure it out?

or just full it with packing peanuts and measure how much there are in there

plus, the trunk would have to be COMPLETELY air tight for this to work

I work in a warehouse and packing peanuts is exactly what I was thinking of. As for sealing off the trunk, any ideas? And when you say completely for the trunk lid seam could I say replace the foam weather stripping with something rubber? Maybe spray down the trunk with rhino liner to plug any holes or cracks?

ya, you would need to spray it with something but that means you can never ever get water in there cause it wouldnt drain out

sound deadener would also be very, very helpful

and weatherstripping will be your friend

Well you see that was the plan, not to lose all the space. I would fill it when needed and keep it empty the rest of the time. Let me ask this, why is it so important that it be completely sealed? Sorry for the dumb question but can the leaks be tuned into the port?

well whenever you put something into the trunk, it will change the tuning of the box which will totally **** **** up

if its not sealed, it can make weird noises, can change the tuning, and just generally be really bad

Go Ported Hade No Noises With Mine //////have My Power Subes Ported At32hz /4 Inch Pip Great Sql And The Punch When Needed It