Is my head unit still good?

Participant count
  • Participant list

675R
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Regular
US
I have a Pioneer DEH-510UB. It was a pretty high end model, 2 years ago.

Now I'm wondering, is it still good? I just ordered Boston Acoustics SC65's and SC95's, no amp or subs. Just want better sound without shelling out the big bucks.

Thanks for any help guys.

still an ok deck ,just might have issues on the new iphones ,thats about it and no pandora
Yeah, with iOS 4, it just didn't recognize the device, but still played fine. Just making sure there wasn't something better/more powerful to power my speakers.

I'm looking at the 9887, and it seems to have the same specs as my Pioneer, sorry, I'm pretty new to the music scene.

Looks like they have the same peak (50Wx4) and same RMS output (18Wx4)

Will there be a noticeable difference? Because money doesn't grow on trees :0

prolly not enough that you can tell , being a noob.i personally like the pioneers better.better cd cage,easier to navigate the unit too
Allright, thanks for your help, guess I'll keep it until I decide to amp it or something.

Any tips on getting the best sound from it? Settings and stuff?

amp all the speakers thats what i did on my avhp 4200.then i set my low pass ,one at 65 hz the other at 80,at -6 the the mids at + 2 and highs at + 4,loudness on high high pass on 200 i think,sla up , and bass boost up.its loud as hell and i dont burn coils then i adjust my amps accordingly.thats just my preferance

I'm looking at the 9887, and it seems to have the same specs as my Pioneer, sorry, I'm pretty new to the music scene.
Looks like they have the same peak (50Wx4) and same RMS output (18Wx4)

Will there be a noticeable difference? Because money doesn't grow on trees :0
RMS and peak power of a headunit is not all that matters when comparing models. Look at the feature set as well. The 9887 has time alignment, slope, active capable and a bunch of other features.