Is it worth fixing?

jt4x4

CarAudio.com Exclusive
ND
My amp is an MTX 6500. My sub plays on-and-off. Same issue happens with a different sub. Zero volts on the output when the sub isn't bumping, so I suspect the amp. Is this amp worth the cost to repair? Is it worth learning to repair myself?

I have an associates degree in electronics, so I am no stranger to soldering or testing equipment, and I own an oscilloscope, but I have never repaired an amplifier before. I enjoy learning new things, but I also don't mind paying someone to do work if the price is right.

What should I expect to pay for a repair? Any idea what might be causing my problem? My best guess is a loose component from vibrations, but I haven't opened the amplifier yet... I worked 12.5 hours today, so free time was limited.

Thanks.

- Joe