I had my amp clamped for output and now I'm confused

JonM

I'm running HCCA 8k at 2 ohm. I had my amp clamped at usaci at 3640 watts at full volume. I've had this set up for 4 months. I'm pushing 2 2,500 watt rms, 5,000 12" HCCAs, both 2 ohm. I blew both up last month and had to recone them. My question is: How did these blow with 1820 watts going to each of them when therere 2,500 watts rms a piece. Why is the amp only clamping At 3640 watts when the box says its around 6,500 watts at 2 ohms. I'm pretty new to this.

impedance rise

once the sub is playing the resistance will change. usually 2x the resting resistance is common for ported boxes. some people have 4x some have 1.5x

but there will always be some rise.

also it is the most rise at enclosure tuning but also the most efficient. so you may be getting less power but still be louder than at a different frequency with more power.

so just because you clamped x watts at one frequency doesnt mean you werent getting close to 6k at a different frequency. or if you had a clipped signal that can damage subs.

clip that signal and its more than enough to blow those subs, give them 3kw rms clean and they wont blow unless you're unloading them and kill them with low frequencies

I'm running HCCA 8k at 2 ohm. I had my amp clamped at usaci at 3640 watts at full volume. I've had this set up for 4 months. I'm pushing 2 2,500 watt rms, 5,000 12" HCCAs, both 2 ohm. I blew both up last month and had to recone them. My question is: How did these blow with 1820 watts going to each of them when therere 2,500 watts rms a piece. Why is the amp only clamping At 3640 watts when the box says its around 6,500 watts at 2 ohms. I'm pretty new to this.