How to wire 1 sub and 2 midbass on single 500W channel?

Participant count
  • Participant list

imsickofweed

Senior VIP Member
I was looking at a single 4 ohm dayton dsc205-4 8" subwoofer and 2 8 ohm Morel MW-266 8" midbass. Im not sure if all of these can be powered on one channel but this is how I would do it...

Wire the 2 morels in parallel making 4 ohms and then wire that set in parallel with the dayton making 2 ohms. My amp is 2ohm stable so theres no problem there, but what do I set the gain for? Each of these subs are rated for 150w rms each for a total of 450w. Do i set the gain for 450w rms or is it a more complicated calculation?

They would all be crossed together obviously, their frequency ranges are similar and the only other speakers in the car would be a pair of focal ps165 components. Im still kind of new to this so I hadnt got to the crossover point figuring stage yet. Amp is an alpine pdx-v9 btw.

So I checked the frequency response on the dayton again and it only goes up to 200Hz, I was reading 2000Hz. So I guess my idea wont work for that speaker in particular. Im still curious on how to wire 3 speakers like that given that they have similar frequency response bandwidths. If I just do the morels in the rear doors in parallel, do I have to supply 300w, 150w, or 75w? If I do all 3 do I supply 450w, 300w, or some other amount.

If you're dead set on doing it this way you're going to need to use a passive crossover network. Low pass the sub at 80 hz and high pass the mids around there. Running them all the same frequencies may have ill effects

what would be better for overall bass 1 dayton 8" sub in the factory 8" 0.35ft3 box or 2 morel 8" midbass in the rear doors that are sealed with dynamat etc.
More cone area always wins. If the factory box is ported though. That might be equal to two 8s IB

Sent from my SGH-T999 using Tapatalk

More cone area always wins. If the factory box is ported though. That might be equal to two 8s IB