How much per hour

Unless it's a close friend and/or you don't mind doing it for free I'd charge. If you're putting in your time and utilizing your skills you should be getting paid to do so, especially if it's something he's interested in.

If you're looking for a comparable service and trying to find out what such an install would go for, I can't help you there; I'm just a novice hobbyist. If you have a guess how long it'd take you can negotiate a flat fee. Figure out what your time is worth to you and come up with a fair price.

Do people charge for installs/custom work? Local guy likes my tablet with digital dac setup and wants me to do an install for him in his yukon.
If you dont do it for a living, I would not charge that much. maybe a couple bucks or gear or dinner ect.

If its fiberglass id do cost of materials plus 50minimum and thats an easy small piece. But for a dash I would say no more than 120 unless that includes some expensive parts ie the gauges

of course people charge, unless its a good friend or a girl you want to bang
oh man college days, good sh*t lol.

and to the OP. i'd account the materials in first and just do a flat fee, start at a decent price and work it down until they agree to it. You never know, people might cash out bundles of money for installs. Unless this guy's a pretty close buddy i'd charge him a fair price at least.

oh man college days, good sh*t lol.

and to the OP. i'd account the materials in first and just do a flat fee, start at a decent price and work it down until they agree to it. You never know, people might cash out bundles of money for installs. Unless this guy's a pretty close buddy i'd charge him a fair price at least.