How do you define "SQ" for a sub?

7ender
10+ year member

CarAudio.com Elite
After all the research iv'e done, i'm still unsure about how the "sound quality" of a sub is judged. I'm new to subs, though I consider myself an audiophile with regard to other parts of the audio spectrum : ). When a sub is geared towards sq- I would imagine it would sound tighter and cleaner. Would this be a correct assumption?

The only sub iv'e heard extensively is an Fi Q off a kicker kx1000.1, though not in an "optimal" condition (non deadened trunk car). So i'm looking for an explanation in words rather than a comparison as I have few things to compare to.

The reason I ask is because i'm looking for my setup right now. I'm pretty set on an hdc312 with an aq1200d. I know this is an spl sub however, and likes to be tuned high. Ironically, I mostly listen to metal. I want the sub for the times when I occasionally want to bump some Late Night Tip ; ), but i'm curious to how the various subs respond to bass drums etc found in metal. So how would an spl sub, tuned high as such, compare to a sq sub like the Q (at 32hz).

You'll want to look for a woofer with a low FS and a high Xmax, usually. You want to look at the overall build quality of the company you're purchasing from. AQ has great build quality, but their HDC3's probably aren't the best for SQ due to their FS around 40 if my memory serves me correct. Someone else will chime in with more info I'm sure!

that has nothing to do with SQ. a low FS and high xmax? negative. that is not what to look for in a subwoofer for sound quality.

sound quality, as defined by anyone with a brain, is the highest fidelity of the original recording as possible. fidelity is defined by the dictionary here;

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/fidelity