Help please..?

coleworld
10+ year member

NH
Ok, i'm completely new to car audio. I looked around and bought a JL w3v3 in the JL H.O. box, the 4 ohm version. So now I'm trying to find an amp for it. I want to give it close to 500 watts, (the RMS). Every amp that I see that is a 500 watt amp is less then 500 at 4 ohm... I can't wire my sub in series to run a 2 ohm because its single voice coil. The only 500 watt amp I could find that runs 500 at 4 ohm is the JL 500/1, and that is expensive anyway.

So what should I do here? I am trying to avoid spending as much money as possible...

Are there any other 500w amps that can run 500 at 4ohms? It seems like a waste of money to buy a 1000w amp. I don't really know what I'm talking about as you can probably tell, so no hate please...i'm just trying to learn.

You can look for a 2 channel amp that does 500 bridged, as they are usually rated @ 4 ohms bridged. What you'd prob be looking for would be something like 125x2@4 ohms, 250x2@2 ohms, 500x1@4 ohms.

Welcome //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wave.gif.002382ce7d7c19757ab945cc69819de1.gif What part of NH are you from?

Audiopipe 1500D does 500 @ 4 and costs around $140 shipped new from VMinnovations.com If you wan't something a bit higher quality I would check out the classifieds

Is audiopipe a good brand? Ive heard the name before but I dont know any of their products or anything. $140 shipped is a good price, but would i be better off with a better quality used amp? I have no problem buying something used, ive been looking around on craigslist and ebay already.

I'm from keene btw, right next to vermont.

Is audiopipe a good brand? Ive heard the name before but I dont know any of their products or anything. $140 shipped is a good price, but would i be better off with a better quality used amp? I have no problem buying something used, ive been looking around on craigslist and ebay already.
I'm from keene btw, right next to vermont.