HC312 and AQ2200 isn't loud

jcarver
10+ year member

So i recently installed a HDC312 and an AQ2200 and the problem is it snit very loud, at least not what I would expect. To give you a little background I have some experience doing installs but nothing major. I built the box. Its 2.2cuft slot port at 36Hz. The sub sounds ok and can get loud so i don't think its with the sub or box. I think my problem lies in the amp but i could be wrong. heres what I have found. Oh and my head unit is the Scion SNS200. I guess it could be the head unit but its a $2000 unit and is bran new so idk. 120amp alternator, stock battery, big 3 done. Sub is a D2 wired in paralleled. DMM shows load at .08 at the amp less +.01 resistance of the dmm. So .09ohm load +rise. I tried the test below with test tones but music has the same problem.

****With these setting the system wont power the amp or sub to distortion. DMM showed 12.8v at the amp during test****

-high and low filtered turn as far down as possible so neither is interfering with

-bass boost off

-the gain turned 3/4 of the way up

-the sub preamps on the head unit are at max (+6)

-volume on head unit at 100%

****With these setting the system starts to get louder but wont distort the amp or sub. DMM showed 12.6v at the amp during the test****

-high and low filtered turn as far down as possible so neither is interfering with

-bass boost off

-the gain turned 100% of the way up

-volume on head unit at 100%

****With these settings I am able to push the amp to clipping (barley) DMM showed 12.1v at amp****

-bass boost 60%

-the gain turned 80% of the way up

-volume on head unit at 95-10%