Good News People!

Participant count
  • Participant list

Phatillusion
5,000+ posts

Banned
Well after being up all night last night with nothing to do, I started looking into getting myself a college degree. I decided that I am either going to go into Accounting or Computer Networking, maybe both if time permits. I've always been good at math, but only know bits and pieces about Computer Netorking, so I will definitely need some studying in that department. I graduated in 99, and hope I can remember some of the crap I learned in h.s. Anyhow, I went down to the college, the lady there was pretty helpful, pointed me in the right way, and was very supportive and understanding. Just thought I'd share this with everyone, maybe inspire somebody else also. If I can raise 2 kids, have a full time job, and go to college, anyone else can too.

Thanks, I made a few calls today, I've got a scholarship I earned from h.s. that's still good for another 4 years or so! I also have a few other plans lined up in the way of getting some free $$ to help out. I am planning to ask the boss sometime closer to registration, whether they will let me go down from 40 hrs a week to around 30-34. I'm pretty sure that they will deny it, so I will probably be hunting a job down. As for posting on this site, I definitely won't have much time, maybe drop by every once in a while, see how things are going. I won't start until August though, so I do have some time:)

I know have my major narrowed down, either Computer Networking or Computer Programming. Anyone w/ some helpful info that will help me decide between the two would be appreciated. I'm kind leaning toward Networking, so I can get an in depth view of how and what operates computers, then once I get my degree, I could take programming classes as time permits. Just need something I can make a good career out of, have fun, and make $$. Thanks.

First off good for you