electrics effecting qulity of sound

Participant count
  • Participant list

Majestic_roll
10+ year member

Hello every one

Well I am totally new to in car audio but I got hold of my first amp and set of 6 by 9s today.

The amp is a 4 channel 660 watt amp and the speakers are 200 watt each. Well at the moment I have set them up minus a head unit as I will be using my portable MP3 player/CD player via phono to jack cable. Well all is installed and works ok but my speakers seem to distort very easily and when ever I use any thing electrical in the car it makes the music crackle.

The car VW Beetle so the amp is next to engine in the back next to battery and the sound cables run straight to the front.

The power cable was taken form the (power on) to the original head unit

The amp has bass boost which is off

The amp has cross overs which are set to full other options are hpf lpf (can any one explain these to me?)

I am currently only using channel 1 and 2 phono in put and speaker out put

Gain is at 3quaters

There is a button called mode ch has option 1/3/4 mine is set on 3 (any info on this would be great too)

The amp is set up high and the portable players are set low when listening

The amp is a XSA 660 from http://www.bass-junkies.com

And the speakers are FURY 200 watt 4 ohm

Any help much appreciated

Majestic

Originally posted by Majestic_roll Hello every one

Well I am totally new to in car audio but I got hold of my first amp and set of 6 by 9s today.
cool, good start.
The amp is a 4 channel 660 watt amp and the speakers are 200 watt each. Well at the moment I have set them up minus a head unit as I will be using my portable MP3 player/CD player via phono to jack cable. Well all is installed and works ok but my speakers seem to distort very easily and when ever I use any thing electrical in the car it makes the music crackle.