Diamond Audio S500s RMS Power Rating

resevil83
10+ year member

I was going to buy 2 pairs of the Diamond Audio S500s for my 97 Ford Contour. I play on getting the Pioneer Deh-p4000ub deck. I was wondering what the rms power for the speakers were? I'm new to car audio, but I read in one of the posts that it is best to amplify component systems and not run them off the head units power. I wanted to find an amp for these but was confused because onlinecarstereo says that they are 20-150rms. That makes no sense. Do they mean that the speakers are acutually 75 watts rms? Please help, and any reccomendations for my speaker set would be appreciated. (I am going to buy a seperate amp and sub later on)

It means you can give them as little as 20 watts rms and as much as 150 watts rms. I'd give them 125-150. I used to have a set a loved them. It's hard to underpower them because they are so efficient. Also they would sound much better with an amp on them. I had an old school xtant amp on mine and they sounded great.

If the HEX are the older original ones then go for it but if they are the new HEX you need to be warned that they are not the same comps they used to be. Diamond was bought out recenlty and they lowered the quality on the HEX comps but kept the same look.

?? I was planning on buying from online car stereo. I think they are the older versions? I don't exactly know where to get them other than that. Also I was trying to keep the cash down on everything but it looks like that is not going to happen! I was looking at the Diamond Audio D6 700.4 amp. Does that look like a good idea to you? I don't know the difference between 2 and 4 ohms is but, it says I can run 4 speakers at 115 watts 4 ohms and 4 speakers at 175 watts 2 ohms. I also have to buy some dynamat and speaker wires.