can I use 'AC to DC' adapter to hook up car amp?

Participant count
  • Participant list

moonX

I have a clarion car amp, I want to hook it up in the house to test it out. Can I just use the Ac to Dc 12Volts adapter for my keyboard to hook it up? Is the wattage fine?

Also, I'm a newbie, is there some good website that have instuctions for car stereo installation. I'm taking Electrical Eng in school, so hopefully with some help I can pull it off.

Thanks alot guys

it would work and you can ask what you want to know in here altho personally I think any sub or speaker in house below 8ohm suxxors //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

AC -> DC would work, easier is an DC travo (couz you got ground and **** on that to)

Thank you for your reply

I know it going to sux with the converter, but the amp isn't working, I just wanted to fiddle with it a bit. The amp belong to a buddy of mine, and if I get it to work, I get to keep it:)

hrm //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

Just do it simple mate //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

Take the amp and put a normal cable on the + and on the - (power and ground)

Open up your hood and put the power on the battery's + pole and the ground on the battery's - pole, if it gives you lights u'r good to go //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

ummm from your key board....(beastyle don't answer anymore questions) no that won't work...it doesn't have the correct aperage to make an amplifeir power up...but it still may be 12 volts...an automotive battery charger works well, thats what i have used in the past. that adapter would probably light up a tube of neon, but thats it.

yep, I take my time to go out side, pop the hood and connect the amp to the battery-----and there're no light, this really ****.