Bridging Mono Amp to dual 1ohm subs? (Specs inside)

Participant count
  • Participant list
Hey guys, nebtastic newbie here...quick question...I do IT for a living but this speaker/sub stuff is confusing.

Correction to the title. I have a single amp, and 2 different subs. One is 1ohm sub the other is 4ohm sub

AMPLIFIER:

Alpine MRX-55

CEA-2006 Power Ratings

CEA-2006 Power Rating: 350W RMS x 1 (4-ohm, 14.4V at

Max Power Output Ratings

Max Power: 1100W

RMS Power Ratings

Per channel into 4 Ohms: 350W RMS x 1 (14.4V at

Per channel into 2 Ohms: 550W RMS x 1 (14.4V at

Per channel into 1 Ohm: 400W RMS x 1 (14.4V at

Alpine Electronics of America, Inc.

SUBWOOFER 1:

Rockford Fosgate Punch 12" Slimbox

Woofer Series: Punch P3S (P3SD2-12)

Nominal Impedance (ea): 1-Ohm

Internally wired to create a 1-Ohm amplifier load

Power Handling: 400 Watts RMS

800 Watts MAX

SUBWOOFER 2

Power Range (Watts RMS) 100-400

Maximum Wattage 800

Sensitivity 86 dB

Impedance 4 ohms

Again, I want to know if I can bridge two of the subwoofers listed above, to the single mono amp I listed above safely. What are the pros and cons? I don't want to blow anything and I certainly don't want to affect my car in anyway. It's an electronics beast.

Thank you!

Last edited by a moderator:
Wire both subs in series for a 2 ohm load and get a bigger amp at 2 ohms , + -+ - , and the two ends go to the amp simple or just google it if you dont understand

I don't want to buy anything else. If this isn't feasible I'll just sell the older sub. So the question is now (corrected my info above).

Can the aforementioned amp support 2 subwoofers.

12" 4 ohm sub

and

12" 1 ohm sub

Any mono amp can support 4 subs its all about wiring , are these subs dual voice coils or single

---------- Post added at 09:18 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:17 AM ----------

And you never mix impedances always buy the exact match to your sub