Brand new setup for 2017 F150 SCrew with base audio system/8" screen/Nav

Hey guys,

I need some help. I've wired two complete audio systems before but I always had an aftermarket headunit. Now I'm trying to keep my stock screen, etc so I had to change my normal setup.

So, I bought this stuff:

-Alpine 5 channel PDX-V9

-Alpine Type R 6.5" RS65C component speakers (the new ones)

-Alpine Type R 6.5" RS65 coaxial speakers (the new ones)

-Alpine Type R 10" SWR-T10 shallow mount subwoofer

-Hertz H8 DSP processor

I've never used a processor before. I realize there is a lot of tunability for this and it will take some time to adjust. But, I need a walk through and some suggestions for the wiring.

I understand I have to splice into the speaker wires behind the head unit. My plan is to run a long extension from there to the back of the truck where the processor will be. Is a "9 wire" that I see on Crutchfield enough? Or more or less?

Then, my plan was to power all 4 speakers with some 12 gauge wire I purchased from the amp. And the same with my sub (the amp can handle 100wx4 rms and 500wx1 rms). Which is what the speakers and subs can easily handle rms.

Most diagrams I see show the 4 channels being used to power the 2 woofers and 2 tweeters for just the components. But my plan was to run 1 wire to the crossover and then power the teeeter and woofers from there. And use the twos remaining channels to power the coax in the back and finally the remaining one for the sub.

Can I do this? If so, what output channels on the processor do I use? Like, some appear to have low and high pass filters, but I'm guessing I'd want a mid? Maybe the frequency is adjustable?

Also, from the processor to the amp, is it just 3 sets of rca's that I would need?

I basically need your guys advice on best setup and some help with wiring.

I really appreciate any tips/advice/help.

Thanks very much.

Adam

Last edited by a moderator: