Alpine iDA-X305S - Review

monsterman
10+ year member

This is my first time reviewing and I have only a few hours of user time on the unit. I also have the Alpine Bluetooth installed.

Pros:

-The sound quality from Pandora is actually very good and crystal clear with zero skips so far. Better than the quality I have on a vast majority of my Ipod ripped music.

-Beautiful colors and nice display. Easy to access Subwoofer level control.

-Build quality is very good as expected from Alpine head units. The buttons are firm and not a hint of 'wobble' in any physical feature.

-Significant integration with iPhone in many facets to numerous to make note.

-Overall, it's very user friendly and a pleasure to play.

-Bluetooth functions seamlessly.

- iPhone Cable is thick and very high quality showing no indication of wearing out within any short span of time.

Cons:

- I had trouble getting the Bluetooth initiated but found answers in the Manual's and made it work.

- A number of times I received various error codes but have figured out what 'not to do'. But the solution was usually as simple as restart the vehicle a few times (weird right?) and restart the iPhone itself.

-Currently have trouble finding music quickly on both the iPod function and Center Knob makes it difficult to get what I want quickly. Most likely a user function. There are various ways to scroll through text but it's not intuitive.

-It's not as snappy as I expected. When I select 'next track' on iPod it takes just longer than a cd player. It's something that you can get used to but I noticed it and bothered me.

Overall:

I am very pleased with this unit for $300 shipped brand new and it's total integration with my iPhone is truly a must have for all iPhone users. Excellent unit and Alpine has yet again done something well. Not perfect but very good.

UPDATE: