Alpine 9815 vs. Nakamichi Cd 400

Participant count
  • Participant list

Shugarra
10+ year member

Senior VIP Member
Montana
Well, I bought a used Nakamichi cd 400 off of ebay just to try it out as there isn’t a Nakamichi dealer anywhere near me. I’ve been running an Alpine cda-9815 for about 3 months now. It’s an awesome deck but I was just a little curious about the supposed God Like sound quality of the Nakamichi I’ve heard so much about. I’ve got to admit I was a little skeptical at first about how much a head unit could really improve sound quality. It just seemed to me that cd players have been around for so long that all they could really do is add more functions. At least that’s the philosophy that alpine seemed to take. There is somewhere in the area of 17 million functions on the alpine 9815. This can be kind of imposing when you first get your deck. After you get everything figured out, though, it can be an awesome sounding unit. But back to the Nakamichi!

First off all the equipment stayed the same from one deck to the other. I’m running diamond hex 4.5” components with silk tweeters in stock locations in my 94 maxima. I’ve got a single Magnum D2 in a 1.25 cubic foot box stuffed with polyfill and powered by a Kenwood amp (460 watts x 1 @ 4 ohms). The components are powered by a Rockford Fosgate 201s (50 watts x2 @ 4 ohms).

After I got the Nakamichi installed I ran through essentially my complete cd collection. Everything from Metallica S&M to the new Nickleback cd to Hootie and the Blowfish.

One thing that immediately impressed me was the cd insert/eject. I don’t know why but it just seemed a lot smoother and faster than the motorized face plate of the 9815. It also looked like the install wires were silver which is pretty cool in and of itself.