9500 thunder

Festes40
10+ year member

canada
I have a 9500 12" dual 4 ohm sub. I'm new to this, so any help will be appreciated....I need to build a sub box, something basic, probably a sealed box. I'm not sure how to go about it, dimensions, material, etc.... maybe a diagram of how to build it etc...I'm just looking for a clear, crisp, deep base....Thanks in advanced!

Ok thanks, I suppose you don't have any specs of the box (Length, width etc), or any diagrams on how to build it, where to put the port etc..

Math was my weakest subject in school lol...when you say "2.6 cubes @ 34.8hz worked perfect. I used 42 sq in of port area" thats greek to me. I think i'm over my head lol

air space inside enclosure after displacement of the sub was 2.6 cubic feet

Port area was 42 sq inches, and the port extended until the enclosure was tuned to 34.8 hz.

here you owe me, i spend some time on this:

type in http://reaudio.com/speaker_box/LPort_Box_Calc.html

box width = 37

height = 13.5

depth 1 & 2 both = 16

wood thickness = 0.75

square port width = 3.5

port length 2 = 13

That will give you approx 2.61 @ 34.5 hz w/ 42 sq in of port area

Enjoy! //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/wink.gif.608e3ea05f1a9f98611af0861652f8fb.gif

Wow I do owe you...thanks man, your a life saver.....but being the dummy I am, I have a few more questions....why do they say to cut box left plate 15.25x12x15.25x12, why not just 15.25x12, like the top plate (LxW), why did they repeat it twice, same goes for the box right plate and the port 1. Also the cut angle is 90, that just means a normal straight across cut right. Whats the best material to use, I've been told 3/4 mdf, and other people say 3/4 plywood. I know you glue it together, but which is better, screwing it together, if so, (something like gyprock screws) or lots of brad nails...I'm sorry for being so dumb, but I just want to do it right the first time, and i'm new to all this..I really appreciate all your help!!!