2000 escalade questions

quixotiK

Hello,

The base isn't working in my 2000 escalade. It has not worked for along time. I used to have a sub but I sold it. I am wondering if the people who took the sub out reconnected the regular speakers base properly. I took the car to a local car audio shop and they said they would charge me 75 dollars to check. So my first question is:

Is there an easy way to check if the speakers were properly hooked back up by myself? I have no car audio experience.

If it turns up they are hooked back up properly I have a few other questions:

Is 350 dollars a reasonable price to install a head unit and speakers in a 2000 escalade, including price of head unit and speakers?

What kindof head unit and speakers should I get? I want pretty good sound quality as cheap as possible.

Is it cheaper to buy the parts online? If so how much should I expect to pay for instalation? I was told that new speakers would require a new head unit, that the original head unit that came with the car was not strong enough for new speakers //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/frown.gif.a3531fa0534503350665a1e957861287.gif

Thanks so much for your help, if you have any other advice or recommendations please feel free to share,

Cody

I Have a custom mdf and fiberglass enclosure that came out of an Escalade. It was a newer model but may work. $125 with Boston Woofer plus shipping. It locates under the panel with the jack and stuff. Sounds excellent and the BA woofer has a lot of throw

uh.. when you say "base (sp) hooled back up, do you mean a factory subwoofer (unsure if this car has that)? because if youre talking about the regular speakers.. if sounds coming out of them, theyre hooked up.

sire, you can pull the door cards and check if theyre hooked up. that bodystyle truck is stupid easy.