1965 Corvette New Audio System Wiring Help (Rookie)

Participant count
  • Participants list

ike2010

CarAudio.com Newbie
USA
Greetings everyone. I currently have a "system" in my 1965 Corvette, but I'm looking to add some components. Forewarning, I am not an expert in car audio, and I don't need a pro setup in this car - just something that works. I do not have a head unit in my car. My current setup is basically an amp and two 6.5's. I have a 12v to 5v converter that is wired directly into the power and ground hookups on the amp. The 5v end of that feeds a usb powered bluetooth receiver. I play audio from my phone to the bluethooth receiver which is then connected to the amp via R/L RCA outputs. I have a blue remote line feeding the amp from the ignition key cylinder that turns on the amp when the car is running. Everything works in the current setup. See image below - current setup on top, proposed setup on bottom.

My new system will add two subs, an amp for the subs, and an EQ between the bluetooth receiver and the amps.

My questions are:

1. Can I just wire the + and - terminals of the EQ directly to the + and - terminals on one of the amps to get it power?
2. Are there any recommendations around the bluetooth part of this system? It works now, but maybe there is a better option? I don't have a head unit in the car (original AM radio that isn't being removed).
3. Are there any parts available that will make the wiring splitting, distribution easier? For example, a junction box for the remote line from the key that will split it three ways for each amp and the EQ? Any ideas around that is appreciated.

I would suggest getting it installed by a professional. You don't want to take a chance on a beauty like that. Try not and cut any metal. What are some details of the system? A set of 6-½" components up front and two 8" subs in the rear should be plenty.