Need a better understanding...

Participant count
  • Participant list

T-Roy31
10+ year member

Of Fs in regards to subwoofers... Basically, if my subs have an Fs of 37, it would not be wise to put them in a 4 cube box tuned to anything lower than that # of 37hz??

What happens when you do that?

Also, how does size (cubes) affect tuning/sound/performance of woofer. Say, a 4 cube box tuned to 38 as compared to 2.5-3 cubes tuned to 38hz? With 2 12" woofers. Is it better to be bigger/smaller or what?

I'm mainly concerned with Fs and Tuning. Looking to build a box somewhere in the area of 4 cubes tuned to 35-36hz, with about 77" of port area. Is this good for a sub with an Fs of 37? Fack I'm not good at this stuff. I need to try and learn what I can!

Hopefully I haven't confused anyone as much as I have myself... //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/crazy.gif.c13912c32de98515d3142759a824dae7.gif//content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/biggrin.gif.d71a5d36fcbab170f2364c9f2e3946cb.gif

Fs is the resonance of the driver. A ported box can extend the range of the driver (downward from fs)

The larger the box the greater the gain at the tuning frequency. The time delay goes up as well.

I cant determine much more unless you list the driver in question.

hope this helps.

edit: grammar fail

Fs is the resonance of the driver. A ported box can extend the range of the driver (downward from fs)
The larger the box the greater the gain at the tuning frequency. Also, the time delay goes up as well.

I cant determin much more unless you list the driver in question.
Sorry, it's a Kaption SPL12 (2 of them). Dual 2ohm model.

Here is a PDF with listed specs!

http://www.kaptionaudio.com/manuals/SPLManual.pdf

OK are you going with a SPL or SQ setup?

The spl setup would be 36.43hz with 3cuft box

122.2db @ 42hz and onward slowly drops after that

group delay is 19ms @ 33hz so it should be good for music

sq- 2.8cuft @ 31.5hz

120db @ 43hz 118 @ 33hz