THD Question

Participant count
  • Participant list

2kchevy06civic
5,000+ posts

Learn to swim
Arizona Bay
Hey, I have a question about THD. I tried searching on the forums about what exactly this is, why it's important, and what numbers to look for when purchasing an amp. I didn't come across to many helpful topics. So, could you plz tell me what's a good range to look at (the THD) when buying an amp? And, what exactly does it do?

sorry, I'm still fairly new to a lot of this stuff. Any help would be greatly appreciated. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/cool.gif.3bcaf8f141236c00f8044d07150e34f7.gif

Hey, I have a question about THD. I tried searching on the forums about what exactly this is, why it's important, and what numbers to look for when purchasing an amp. I didn't come across to many helpful topics. So, could you plz tell me what's a good range to look at (the THD) when buying an amp? And, what exactly does it do?
sorry, I'm still fairly new to a lot of this stuff. Any help would be greatly appreciated. //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/cool.gif.3bcaf8f141236c00f8044d07150e34f7.gif

THD = Total Harmonic Distortion.

In a nutshell, it's just distortion that any amplifier adds to the signal.

Most amplifiers today have THD ratings below 1% which is not audible.

That being said, THD should not play a large factor in selecting your amplifier.

More informtion can be found here:

http://www.bcae1.com/thd.htm