Recommendations for LOC around ~$100

Grabbit

SEA
I'm getting ready to install a 12 sub and mono amp in my GTI. It has the factory Dynaudio 300w system which is great. I don't want to rip that or the Nav unit out. Just looking to add some bass. With that being said what would be a good LOC to use for a mono sub amp? (ZX400.1) I don't want a cheapy $20 unit but do I really need something with summing and a bunch of other bells and whistles if it is only for the low end? (below ~140hz)

So another question......If I want some sort of remote bass level knob I've read a few threads where people don't recommend them. I guess more or less the knobs that hook directly to the amp itself. I thought this was just a remote gain control but one person even said it was a "remote woofer cooker". I'm a bit of a newb so I'm not really sure why. Would it be better for me to get a control knob for the line out voltage on the LOC such as the combo offered by Audio Control on the LC2I? I dunno I just want to be able to dial in the woofer for each style of music I listen to. Other than adding a sub I love the factory stereo in my GTI.

Really thinking about the Audiocontrol LC2i. It has a remote bass level. Can someone explain why it would be better to use a remote level controller on the LOC as compared to the amp itself?

Really thinking about the Audiocontrol LC2i. It has a remote bass level. Can someone explain why it would be better to use a remote level controller on the LOC as compared to the amp itself?
Its better not to use one at all. If your system is tuned properly you dont need a bass knob.

I'm not sure why you'd spend $100 on something that's some pretty simple circuitry (i.e. hard to screw up).

I just bought one of these as a temporary fix until I upgrade the stock deck in mine.

Amazon.com: PAC SOEM-T 2-Channel Premium Line-Out Converter with Remote Turn-On Trigger: Automotive