Powered or Pre-loaded?

Participant count
  • Participant list

Drivin' Dave

CarAudio.com Newbie
I'm just getting into all of this, so be patient with me. All I could really afford was a 2016 Chrysler 200 LX. It has a basic Uconnect 5.0 4 speaker system, that actually sounds pretty good, for me at least. It seems to have a relatively crisp mid-range and top end. But more, and better bass I'm sure would help. And I'm sure you know what I mean.
I'm thinking a subwoofer might help refine things. My question is, what is the difference between a powered subwoofer, and a pre-loaded subwoofer. Things I see on-line make me think they're the same, but what do I know. One supplier (Pioneer) I was looking at showed 2 separate items, one being powered, and the other pre-loaded.
Can someone straighten me out, and possibly tell me which I should be looking at more closely. I want to keep it simple, inexpensive, effective, and compact. I don't want a great big giant box in my trunk.
Any help would be most welcome..................Thank you...Dave

powered has an amp included. Pre loaded is just the box and the subs, you'll need to buy an amp. either way you need to buy a wiring kit and a line out convertor of some sort to get signal to the amp.

All you could afford was a 2016 Chrystler 200 LX car....lmao like there was no older vehicles to choose from. Besides the newer vehicles are getting harder to work on.

Jeff hit the nail on the head with your question, however, what's your budget for audio?

Thanks Jeff, that explains it. I'll be looking at a powered subwoofer.
When you're talking about a wiring kit and a line out convertor, is this what you mean?