MOJO 515d4 vs. CT SOUNDS 4000.1

Participant count
  • Participant list

southpaw_inkz

I have a pair of Memphis MOJO 15's ( MOJO515d4 ) and I have them wired down to 1ohm. The amp puts out 4000 watts RMS and the subs are rated at 1750 RMS each. Should I be worried about that extra 250 watts damaging my subs ? Im pretty sure I should be ok but just wanted to make sure.

P.S. Im a newb to this forum and just got back into car audio so HELLO everyone !

The clipping light is pretty accurate, but it will start soft-clipping a little before the light comes on. Was proven with an o-scope.

You should be fine if the clipping light is off. The system can take a soft clip.

As far as "by ear", my rule of thumb is:

If it sounds bad, it is bad. Turn it down. Distortion can be a sign that your equipment is being stressed and/or damaged

I appreciate the help! I know that I definitely need to run another 0 gauge wire back to my amp because the single is showing a hellified voltage drop. I have a dual battery but they're both under the hood. Maybe I should put one closer to the amp and step up my alternator. Like I said, im just starting this build so im working out the bugs and a lot has changed since I stopped installing 12 years ago.

I appreciate the help! I know that I definitely need to run another 0 gauge wire back to my amp because the single is showing a hellified voltage drop. I have a dual battery but they're both under the hood. Maybe I should put one closer to the amp and step up my alternator. Like I said, im just starting this build so im working out the bugs and a lot has changed since I stopped installing 12 years ago.
Any time!

With this kind of wattage, a battery by the amp is a must. I'd also recommend an upgraded alt, but most people don't want to pay that.

I'll probably post a build log this weekend. You'll see why I needed a new alt, haha

Would you recommend something like a 250amp ? If so could it maintain 3 batteries or is 2 enough ?