JVC KD-X340BTS "No file" Error


HMBR

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2018
5
0
Zimbabwe
Hi Everyone

I tried to update the Firmware on my "JVC KD-X340BTS" the update failed to run correctly and now the Radio is stuck displaying "NO FILE". I have tried:-

- pushing the reset button

- Unplugging the Harness

The radio is still stuck displaying "NO FILE" - I would like to reset the Radio back to its working status - anyone who can help me with this?

p.s. I cannot take the Radio into a shop for repairs as it is currently on a trip with me in Africa. I am capable of the repairs myself

 

Jeffdachef

Gunz That Turn on Nunz
5,000+ posts
Feb 5, 2013
18,546
798
South Coast Metro, CA
Hi Everyone
I tried to update the Firmware on my "JVC KD-X340BTS" the update failed to run correctly and now the Radio is stuck displaying "NO FILE". I have tried:-

- pushing the reset button

- Unplugging the Harness

The radio is still stuck displaying "NO FILE" - I would like to reset the Radio back to its working status - anyone who can help me with this?

p.s. I cannot take the Radio into a shop for repairs as it is currently on a trip with me in Africa. I am capable of the repairs myself
is the display happening at all times or is it just when you plug your usb in?

Depending on the steps you took during the update, you might have ruined your head unit man, or your usb is bad/not compatible or the computer wrote the information onto the usb wrong.

http://www.jvc.net/cs/car/firmware/2017/kdr880bt/pdf/17KD_FWverup_en.pdf

Otherwise, call JVC tech support.

 

HMBR

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2018
5
0
Zimbabwe
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #3
The Display is on ALL the time and displaying "NO FILE" - when you press the volume knob it responds with "READING" then returns to "NO FILE". I have tried 3 different flash drives to see if that was the issue. each time the HU tries to read the drive then just responds with "NO FILE". The Engine was running during the attempted update.

Anyone with the update file - maybe that is the issue.

 

Louisiana_CRX

dem shoes......
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Aug 22, 2006
39,526
471
Piney Hills of Louisiana
It sounds like the deck has been corrupted ..

 

HMBR

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2018
5
0
Zimbabwe
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #5
"IF" the Deck has been Corrupted how would one go about correcting this ?

 

Jeffdachef

Gunz That Turn on Nunz
5,000+ posts
Feb 5, 2013
18,546
798
South Coast Metro, CA
"IF" the Deck has been Corrupted how would one go about correcting this ?
jvc tech support and if that doesnt work, RMA and warranty return it.

 

HMBR

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2018
5
0
Zimbabwe
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #7
What can we do if returning it is not an option, say for example the Unit has traveled around the world. I need a walkthrough on how to repair this unit - anyone who can help with this, please get in touch i would appreciate it.

 

Louisiana_CRX

dem shoes......
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Aug 22, 2006
39,526
471
Piney Hills of Louisiana
What can we do if returning it is not an option, say for example the Unit has traveled around the world. I need a walkthrough on how to repair this unit - anyone who can help with this, please get in touch i would appreciate it.
I hope you can get it repaired but it’s probably easier to replace it with a new deck

 

Jeffdachef

Gunz That Turn on Nunz
5,000+ posts
Feb 5, 2013
18,546
798
South Coast Metro, CA
What can we do if returning it is not an option, say for example the Unit has traveled around the world. I need a walkthrough on how to repair this unit - anyone who can help with this, please get in touch i would appreciate it.
again, call JVC tech support.

 

HMBR

Junior Member
Mar 18, 2018
5
0
Zimbabwe
  • Thread Starter Thread Starter
  • #10
Hi - I SOLVED THIS PROBLEM

1- Disconnect the unit from the Harness for 5 days

2 - When doing firmware updates dont use any USB drives that come with their own software like a SanDisk - use a plain USB stick

3 - Plug the USB drive into the Unit before giving the Unit Power

4 - If you get a "No File" error keep retrying it will respond and update

 

Jeffdachef

Gunz That Turn on Nunz
5,000+ posts
Feb 5, 2013
18,546
798
South Coast Metro, CA
Hi - I SOLVED THIS PROBLEM
1- Disconnect the unit from the Harness for 5 days

2 - When doing firmware updates dont use any USB drives that come with their own software like a SanDisk - use a plain USB stick

3 - Plug the USB drive into the Unit before giving the Unit Power

4 - If you get a "No File" error keep retrying it will respond and update
Nice work man!! Glad you found the solution and are sharing it! Cheers! Will keep this in mind if my buddy ever needs to update the firmware on his x340bts

 

Louisiana_CRX

dem shoes......
5,000+ posts
10+ year member
Aug 22, 2006
39,526
471
Piney Hills of Louisiana
Hi - I SOLVED THIS PROBLEM
1- Disconnect the unit from the Harness for 5 days

2 - When doing firmware updates dont use any USB drives that come with their own software like a SanDisk - use a plain USB stick

3 - Plug the USB drive into the Unit before giving the Unit Power

4 - If you get a "No File" error keep retrying it will respond and update
I’m glad you got it back up and going again

 

stephobs

CarAudio.com Newbie
Nov 1, 2018
2
0
Hi !

Glad to learn I'm not alone on the planet with this problem, although this topic is hard to spot on the web !

I own a JVC KD-X330BT, tried to upgrade it but same thing happened, got stuck on NO FILE on the dial.

Nothing works ! I did a reset, unplugged power plug in the back, but it still stuck.

One question please: why has the unit to stay unplugged for 5 days ? Did you try any shorter delay ?

Thanks a lot

Stephan

JVC.JPG

 

stephobs

CarAudio.com Newbie
Nov 1, 2018
2
0
Fantastic, it worked all right !

Thank you so much HMBR, & wherever you are now, have a great day !

Stepobs,from the Flanders in France

PS: just by curiosity, if ever you come back here, how did you discover the "5 days" ? You need a helluva faith ...

 

Lucian-100

CarAudio.com Newbie
Dec 14, 2019
3
0
Bucharest
Fantastic, it worked all right !

Thank you so much HMBR, & wherever you are now, have a great day !

Stepobs,from the Flanders in France

PS: just by curiosity, if ever you come back here, how did you discover the "5 days" ? You need a helluva faith ...
Use a usb disk smaller then 1 gb, copy the file , and insert in slot.
 

Lucian-100

CarAudio.com Newbie
Dec 14, 2019
3
0
Bucharest
Hi !

Glad to learn I'm not alone on the planet with this problem, although this topic is hard to spot on the web !

I own a JVC KD-X330BT, tried to upgrade it but same thing happened, got stuck on NO FILE on the dial.

Nothing works ! I did a reset, unplugged power plug in the back, but it still stuck.

One question please: why has the unit to stay unplugged for 5 days ? Did you try any shorter delay ?

Thanks a lot

Stephan

View attachment 2064
 

anto004

CarAudio.com Newbie
Oct 9, 2020
1
0
India
What worked for me.
I used a newer version usb, I think it's usb3.1 128Gb and it worked.
When I used an old usb 4gb it gave me a no file error.
 

mlopezjr76

CarAudio.com Newbie
Dec 5, 2020
1
0
Chesapeake
The older drive worked for me as well, thanks! However, I think it also has to do with file system. My 4gb stick was FAT32 but I noticed my old 256mb stick was FAT. Anyone who doesn’t have an old stick on hand should try formatting in FAT.
 

Create an account or login to comment

You must be a member in order to leave a comment

Create account

Create an account on our community. It's easy!

Log in

Already have an account? Log in here.


Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)



Newest threads

Most posts - Past 30 days

Latest classifieds