I'm new to all of this...

And I'll be honest: I don't know diddly-squat about audio systems. I have questions that I don't know how to answer. So I'll make it simple.

I have two used Rockford Fosgate 12" subs. The back of them say "Dual 4 Ohm, 400 watts RMS, and 800 watts Peak, product number RFP4212. The amp is an American Legacy,that says two channel, 800W high power amplifier on it, product number LA590.

When the guy sold them to me put them all in, they rumbled like crazy and made my college parking pass hang from my mirror shake violently. I had the subs wired normally before, but a few days after I got them, they guy who sold them to me bridged them, because I apparently crossed a wire somewhere, and fried something in the amp. Now, with everything hooked up right, my parking pass does not violently shake like it used to, because when I try to turn it up that high, the amp's warning light comes on, and the subs shut off, etc.

My question: Is the amp screwed? Was the amp screwed from the beginning due to some incorrect wattage balancing, or was it my fault? How am I supposed to interpret all those numbers up there?

Any help is greatly appreciated //content.invisioncic.com/y282845/emoticons/smile.gif.1ebc41e1811405b213edfc4622c41e27.gif

sounds like your amp is seeing too low of an impedance load. If they are bridged, they should be wired like so:

2_4ohm_dvc_4ohm.gif

first make sure they are wired correct. like shown above. If you've fried something in the amp I don't know how it would still run just bridged....have you tried wiring one of the subs to each of the channels to see which channel is mest up?

also try wiring each sub to make sure those are working correctly too, you could always have a blown voice coil on the sub. test each sub and make sure they sound good and the same.